I am such a Dork!

Thanks to my secret pal who informed me that the altoids in the package she sent me were not, in fact, altoids. Here I thought it was cool getting something that seems ordinary to Americans but isn’t sold in Canada, when actually, it was something much better and more useful for the whole knitting thing:

altoids

That is some stitch markers, a very cool darning set, some little scissors and a gorgeous little pendant-like thing which I’m guessing is a stitch marker but being such a new knitter, I don’t know all of the gadgets yet, so I’m not 100% sure. πŸ™‚ I’m hoping she’ll tell me the best way to use it. I’m a little confused about stitch markers, actually. I mean, I use them to separate repeats and different charts, but I think some of them (the ones that aren’t closed circles) can be used to mark rows as well. Not really sure how they’re used that way.

In other news, I went to see David Suzuki, Candice Pert and Dr. Norm Shealy speak last night. It was a presentation called “Healing the Planet, Healing Ourselves” and it was all about how the environment and us are really the same thing and how everything is integrated. It was really good. David Suzuki is a real inspiration.

Now I’m off to Victoria again tonight and going to Vancouver tomorrow. I feel like I’m busier than I’ve ever been. Does everyone feel that way these days?

3 responses to “I am such a Dork!

  1. The pendant is another type of yarn cutter; allegedly you can take it on airplanes when/if you can’t take scissors. You use it kind of like you use dental floss, in that you just sort of hold the yarn around the pendant and pull the yarn down and a bit back and forth all at the same time, and it saws/cuts the yarn.

    I use markers like that to both mark numbers of rows (say, sticking them on the end of every 10th row) or as place-holders, marking the “beginning” of the piece if knitting in the round, like a hat, where you’ll need to know the start of the row when you begin your decreases. You can also use them as markers to indicate row repeats in a complicated pattern, like if you have to repeat a complicated chart every 25 stitches or so; but lately I’ve become addicted to dangly, pretty stich markers so I’ve stopped using the plastic ones like that.

    I’m in the process of getting your last package together now… only a few more weeks until you find out who I am! πŸ™‚

  2. Say, has my next package gotten to you yet? I mailed it a few days before I went on vacation last week, so it should have gotten to you if not late last week, early this week. Unless customs is rooting through it, fancying the yarn and looking for goodies… πŸ™‚

  3. Ooooh! Thank you for the info on the yarn cutter! That’s such a great thing to have. I always want to knit when I’m flying and don’t want to have them take my tools away, so I don’t bring anything I think will be a problem. That’s a great alternative to scissors. That will definitely be in my travel bag at all times!

Leave a Reply

